h1

The Imperial Wedding

April 15, 2008

We went to an amazing wedding this weekend in NYC. It is always great to go back there.. the city I still call my home.

We spent the weekend with people we love dearly, and Alex was a ring bearer in a beautiful ceremony as we watched our dear friends Kathleen and Atom get married. Special thanks to my friend Amy who watched Alex while we enjoyed the reception past his bedtime! It was one of the most beautiful, fun (and tasty! The food was AMAZING! Hello.. cookies and cream creme brule! Come to mama!) wedding I’ve ever had the pleasure of attending.

Alex was wonderful through the whole thing, we are so proud of him. You may remember that my friend Keith Alexander unexpectedly passed away in July of 2005. We all still miss him very much. His girlfriend, Melissa, was one of Kathleen’s bridesmaids (and looked beautiful as ever). On Sunday, at the post-wedding brunch at the Waldorf Astoria (The wedding was at The W in Union Square, where we were staying), she brought Alex a very special gift. She gifted him (us) one of Keith’s drums. This was a very touching gesture and we are so thrilled to have it. Keith was such an amazing person, and I’ll always tell Alex the story of Keith and this drum and how it was given to him with such love and significance. There were many tears shed this weekend amongst the joy, Keith was missed, but his presence was certainly there with us in our hearts. Thank you, Melissa, for the many amazing gifts you give us, including your wonderful friendship.

Here are some preliminary wedding photos. Cant wait to see the professional ones in a few weeks!

8 comments

  1. OMG! I can’t believe I miss you this weekend while you were in the city–though I know you were busy.
    Alex looks so handsome, as do both you and Dave. *sigh*
    The story of Keith’s drum made me cry a little. It’s truly a beautiful tribute to a friend who’s spirit will live on with you forever.


  2. I know! We were SO busy with all the wedding stuff though. Dont worry, we’ll be back soon. I cant stay away too long.


  3. That family picture of you all is totally adorable, even though it looks like Alex was trying to climb over Dave to get away from all the paparazzi. I love the “formal” black Chucks.


  4. He was a little overwhelmed by all the people 🙂


  5. I followed you home, hope you don’t mind!

    Looks like you had a lot of fun!!

    It is so great to meet you – looking forward to getting to know you better her, my place, and on Twitter! 🙂


  6. I’m glad! Looking forward to more!


  7. Mmm-kay, can I just have a seriously geeking out moment?

    Wil Wheaton also blogged about being in New York last weekend for the wedding of his friends Kathleen and Atom: http://wilwheaton.typepad.com/wwdnbackup/2008/04/new-york-part-o.html

    You guys have mutual friends with Wil Wheaton!


  8. Yes darling. He was there. We danced, we ate, we twittered the whole thing.
    But I didnt exactly talk to him.. we were just leading parallel lives.
    His wife is totally hot.



Comments are closed.

