h1

Listen, the snow is falling o’er town, Listen the snow is falling ev’rywhere.

January 18, 2009

snowfenceToday was a snowy day.. and it was beautiful. Mostly because we didnt have to rush anywhere or have to do anything. The snow fell is big fluffy flakes and clung to the tree branches and each other in winter desperation.

To celebrate our wintery weather, Alex and I made M&M brownies. The Dave and Alex went to play in the snow while I did some house packing. With our move only 3 weeks away, we are doing the best we can to pack what we can, when we can. We’re starting with the office which is probably the hardest room to start with, but then hopefully the rest will seem easier.

For dinner I made a superb paella. I adapted it from a Jacques Pepin recipe. Took some of his ingredients out, put some of my own in, you know how it goes… but it came out fantastic. Chicken, sausage, scallops and shrimp with amazing saffron flavor. I used arborio rice and it was perfect.

So how do I close out a snowy day? Well thats easy. Hot chocolate, of course!

Whole milk
Dark chocolate syrup
touch of mint extract
simmer in a pot
indulge

2 comments

  1. Liz
    So great to see your blog back and running, and good luck with the move. As a hot chocolate snob, I highly recommend this excellent product for heating, mixing and frothing your hot chocolate! I have one at home and one at flightpath (which I will be grabbing soon to bring over to Horn Group!)

    http://www.amazon.com/Back-Basics-CM300BR-Cocoa-Latte-Chrome/dp/B0002TUVQM

    I hope I don’t sound like an advertisement. For some reason, I get really excited when ever the topic of hot choco comes up…you can ask my new co-workers 🙂


  2. ooo gadgets. You know I love them. That would make a great housewarming gift for … ahem… someone.

    I’m not so snobby about my hot choc. Sometimes I make it easy like what I did tonight, but sometimes I bust out the metal bowl over the boiling water and melt some good chocolate with some milk and cream.. for when I’m REALLY feeling decadent (or just showing off)



Comments are closed.

