h1

What is cooking in my crockpot?

March 12, 2010

I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with my crockpot.  I love it because I can set it up and dinner is ready when we come home from work. I hate it because there are only a handful of recipes we have tried that I actually like, or that lean toward the healthier side of things.

But there is one thing that I love in the crockpot better than any way I have ever cooked it before… Oatmeal.

I know, crazy. But it is the creamiest, richest, yummiest oatmeal I have ever tasted. I usually eat mine with frozen wild Maine blueberries and slivered almonds. I swear its like heaven in a bowl. Tasty and healthy and I totally recommend it.

  • 1 cup real steel-cut oats (not quick cooking oats)
  • 4 cups water
  • pinch of salt

load ingredients into the crockpot and cook on low (I do it overnight) for 8 hours. Give it a good hearty stirring at the end of the process.

You can add a bit of maple syrup to the crockpot ahead of time (or after) for a variation. Other variations to add while cooking could include one or a combination of the following:

Cinnamon
vanilla bean
apples
pumpkin pie spice
brown sugar

and of course the possible toppings are endless

Go forth and create amazing oatmeal!

Image used with creative commons licensing from flickr user kthread
2 comments

  1. OK, I have to ask… frozen blueberries? Why not fresh?


  2. Oh don’t get me wrong, fresh is wonderful. But the frozen wild Maine berries taste good too, especially when you don’t have fresh on hand… Or your 4 year old eats them all. Also they cool down the oatmeal for immediate consumption.



Comments are closed.

