h1

An active pregnancy actually means you need to get off your ass

January 19, 2011

We are closing in on the last weeks of the first trimester. I will be happy to see the nausea and sickness go away (oh please, oh please, oh please). and my mind turns to other issues.

There are a couple things I want to avoid. Forced bed rest. Early delivery. Other health problems such as high blood pressure and gestational diabetes.

Seems simple, right? Maybe for someone younger and thinner.

I recently told someone on twitter that I was going to fight like hell to remain active and healthy. She told me I had a great attitude.

I have a confession to make. I haven’t done a thing about it.

Every day, I am exhausted and vomiting and fighting just to make it through the work day. The thought of being active at this time makes me want to shove a stick in my eye.

But I know it is important. And I promise I WILL DO IT. I think the getting started is the hard part. You know.. the getting my ass out of this chair part. Yeah, that. It needs to happen soon.

I think that adding 30 minutes of exercise a day in to my life would be extremely beneficial. And while caving to the cravings is one of the pregnancy bonuses, I’m going to have to watch it (bye bye Crunchberries) better. Although my obsession with Cara cara oranges is a good craving to have!

I need you guys though. I need your help. Your encouragement. Your ideas to keep me from getting bored on a treadmill. I need your favorite healthy snacks. I need you to sneak me some words on twitter. On Facebook. In my email.

I have always caved on the exercise thing. The food thing has always been hard. It is too important not to watch what I am eating and to get up off my ass now.

Did pregnancy change your attitudes about food and exercise? Tell me your stories.

6 comments

  1. You have an almost 5 year old and you are due in August. Just think of all the spring/summer activities you will be doing with him (yes I know its snowing outside right now). I am positive you will be getting 30 mins. of activity in. Alex will make sure of that. What about yoga? Nice way to relax at the end of the week while getting exercise and if you do it as a class (not a video) its a good way to socialize with other preggos. Then you can also transition to mommy & baby yoga. If you think of this as a chore and not something you normally do than you’re not going to keep up with it. Realistically you just need to do something that is already part of your lifestyle. Like snowball fights with Alex, going to the park, practicing soccer with him. Good luck Liz!


  2. Favorite healthy snack: chobani vanilla yogurt + fruit + fat free blueberry muesli from trader joes. Good for you and doesn’t taste like crap! Hope the nausea goes away very soon. Been there, done that, hated it.


  3. Hey, congrats on the pregnancy! Have you tried a fun video game like Just Dance (Wii), We Cheer (I’m not the cheerleading type, but I love it) or something similar? Those get you moving, but hopefully you’re having fun while you do it. I just discovered Cara cara oranges. Yum!


  4. Christy: We have the kinect which we LOVE! It definitely gets us off the couch and moving. There is also a dance game for that, but we don’t have it.. I think I’ll pick it up. Great suggestion!

    I’ve also had a friend contact me about swimming, we both belong to the Y and have committed to swimming at least 1x a week, ideally 2x. I’m looking forward to that, mainly to have someone to do it with.


  5. Yoga is about the only thing I could tolerate while pregnant, plus walking, but combined with eating healthy, as long as you are doing something, you should be fine! I loved yogurt (greek and Whips) and peanut butter toast throughout my pregnancy. In the afternoons I would have a V8 to get some energy. At night I almost always was bad and had some kind of dessert though—that was the hardest time for me!


  6. Don’t forget that the 30 min do not have to be consecutive to be valuable. You could play a game with Alex for 10 min in the morning, use the stairs a couple of times at work, play another game with Alex in the evening, and be almost there.



Comments are closed.

