h1

Mom to two

August 26, 2011

I am torn in two directions. I was expecting this.

Eldest wants me. Needs me. Youngest depends on me for everything. Both of my boys need me and I haven’t mastered the art of time bending or cloning myself as of yet. Luckily, I have the greatest husband who can pick up where parenting is needed in both cases but I think we are both just fumbling through it for now.

We have two kids now. Two little, remarkable humans who depend on us.

We can do this.

But for now, we fumble with our balance and time until we get it right.

4 comments

  1. My husband and I have a one year old and it’s the same situation. He’s all over the place, especially when we both are working on the computer. I’ve seen people manage three kids at the same time and wonder how they do it. But I think there’s no perfection to this, you do it as you do it, and it’s what counts, as long that there is balance in the attention we give our kids.


  2. The first year with two kids was a total clusterfuck in our house. It did get easier (or maybe I just got a little better at tolerating the chaos), and now that #2 is 14 mos old, it’s much easier. We still have our moments, but I don’t feel like I’m on the edge of insanity all the time anymore. It does get better– good luck!


  3. Thanks all! Fumbling through for now.. but I’m sure at some point we will get a rhythm. In 2 weeks we get to throw kindergarten into the mix.. stay tuned for that!


  4. I have two 4 yo kids and a 7 mo baby. I feel your pain, and your joy. We’ve had fantastic luck with 12 – 14 yo mother’s helpers in the afternoons to get a lot of rough housing out of the older kid’s systems, leaving me the reading, art, etc activities that I can do with the new baby in my arms.

    Good luck, and congratulations!



Comments are closed.

